OK so anyone that has an Xbox and an Xbox Live membership probably knows about the “Games With Gold” program.  HOWEVER if you have an Xbox One, then wait there’s more!

OK so first of all Microsoft made a big yip-dee-doo out of their whole Backwards Compatibility program (being able to play Xbox 360 titles on the Xbox One).  To Microsoft’s credit, of course in theory its a great idea.  HOWEVER (yes I just used all caps twice)  they are not telling you the whole story.

Who even knows the whole story?  I am just some random guy writing a blog, so I don’t…..you the reader doesn’t either……and wait for it…….
nor does Microsoft!  I know I should have given you a spoiler alert before that one, please accept my apologies.
Anyways it kinda goes like this:(Or it should anyways from what Microsoft has been promoting).
– Massive catalog of Xbox 360 games playable on the Xbox One (not that many when you take into account how many Xbox 360 game there are, and most of the games are crap anyways…..so far at least the vast majority of good games are not backwards compatible).
– When an Xbox 360 game is put up as part of the “Games With Gold” program – and you have an Xbox One……you CANNOT download that game to your Xbox unless you have a form of payment on file!  What the hell?

I paid for my Xbox Live membership in advance with a Pre-Paid Xbox Live card.  ANY DLC or anything I that I may get, I use a pre paid Xbox Live Gift Card.  I am NOT going to have a payment option on file when I can pay in advance……and when I am getting Xbox Live at least a year at a time in advance……..I shouldn’t have to.  I do not trust the Xbox Live Network (or the PSN) enough to give them a CC……its just crazy with how often they both get hacked for one thing!  So if I cannot download a game that is supposed to be for free and backward compatible……DO NOT TELL ME I CAN if you also require me to have a form of payment on file.  You do not need my payment information, I have already paid for Xbox Live Gold!  You have my real name and Physical address Microsoft!  Besides I can get the Games With Gold Xbox One games and I do not get a message telling me that I need to have a form of payment on file to download the game!  This is crap!  Fix it.

Of course I guess Sony would do the same?   Nintendo?

Now I have yet to obtain an allegedly Backwards Compatible Physical disc Xbox 360 Game and try to play it…….so who know?  Would it still tell me I had to have a form of payment on file even if I had the disc?

Thanks for reading!
Joe

